The Foundation

Projects of the Neihardt Foundation

Sculptures by Mignery

The John G. Neihardt Foundation is inviting the public to suggest a name for the two bronze statues of John G. Neihardt and Nicholas Black Elk crafted by artist Herb Mignery. The deadline for submissions is February 1, 2017.

The winning name will be revealed during the dedication ceremony at the 52nd annual Neihardt Day celebration on August 6, 2017.

Send your suggestion in by e-mail: or by mail to: Neihardt Foundation; P.O. Box 344; Bancroft, NE 68004.

Board Members

Dr. Jon Cerny, President

Paul Hammel, Vice-President

Jon Bailey, Secretary

Nancy Gillis, Treasurer

  • Tim Anderson
  • Pat Browning
  • Dr. Michael Carroll
  • Garry Clark
  • Cynthia Cooper
  • Walter M. Duda
  • Dr. Steve Elliott
  • Mike Fisk
  • Joe Green
  • Mary M. Hines
  • Dr. David J. Hoelting
  • James C. Hulstein
  • Randy Lukasiewicz
  • Dick Moodie
  • Joy and Robin Neihardt
  • Lori Utecht
  • Gail Toedebusch
  • Merlyn Vogt
  • Patty Wegner

Neihardt Journal

The first issue of the Neihardt Journal was published in November, 1999. In her Forward to the first issue, then Foundation Chairman Hilda Neihardt wrote, "Our Spring Conference has been enriched by many notable speakers. To preserve their valuable contributions and to make them available to people, the idea of their collection in a journal was born, and with this issue it becomes a reality."

The first issue featured presentation from the 1998 Spring Conference, which was on the theme "John Neihardt, the Writer." It featured articles by New York Times writer Tim Anderson, by Brian Holloway, professor of English at the College of West Virginia, and by former Neihardt Center Director, Dr. Lori Utecht.

The Journal is published annually and sent to members of the Neihardt Foundation as a part of member services.

Sign up for our quarterly newsletter, The Word Sender

Receive news and information via email from the Neihardt Foundation and State Historic Site.

We do not share your information and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Your Email (required)

Your Name (optional)